The University of Maine Museum of Art, located in downtown Bangor, focuses on exhibiting and collecting modern and contemporary art. The permanent collection includes works by Jim Dine, Eric Fischl, Helen Frankenthaler, David Hockney, Käthe Kollwitz, Roy Lichtenstein, Joan Miró, Jasper Johns, Judy Pfaff, Pablo Picasso, Robert Rauschenberg, Susan Rothenberg, Diego Rivera, Frank Stella, Kara Walker, and Andy Warhol. Celebrating the long heritage of artists with ties to Maine, the collection includes works by Berenice Abbott, Richard Estes, Marsden Hartley, Yvonne Jacquette, Alex Katz, Bernard Langlais, John Marin, Neil Welliver, and Andrew Wyeth. Also featured are important works by Winslow Homer and George Inness.